Monday, May 20, 2024

Kay Wasielewski appointed to Historic Preservation Commission


Granbury City Council unanimously appointed Kay Wasielewski to the Historic Preservation Commission during a regularly scheduled meeting May 7.

Wasielewski was appointed to fill a vacant seat as member Mary Hattox notified city staff that her property located within the city limits had been sold, thus she needed to resign from the commission. Hattox’s two-year term was set to expire January 2026.

According to zoning ordinance 6.2.E3, a minimum of four members of the commission must be owners of a landmark or of property in a historic district. One member may be a member of the Hood County Historical Commission. The remaining voting members of the commission must be residents of the city of Granbury or own real property located within the corporate limits of the City of Granbury. However, this requirement shall not apply to the member representing the Hood County Historical Commission. Three members owning a landmark or property in a historic district and one other member of the commissioner shall constitute a quorum.

Current members of the Historic Preservation Commission include Cindy Peters, Carol Walton, Perer Garland, Mark McDonald, Kay Collerain Schwartz and Claudia Southern.

"We've got a vacancy in our Historic Preservation Commission due to a member moving out of the district and up to parts unknown in the county,” City Manager Chris Coffman said during the meeting. “We do have an applicant that has qualified, Kay Wasielewski. I verified with her she's still interested in serving in this capacity and she is here tonight. I'll leave it up to counsel for your selection process.”

"I go to church with both (Kay and Stan),” Place 4 Gary “Skip” Overdier said. “Kay is already on the Granbury Parks Board, and she's certainly done a great job. I'd like to make a motion to consider appointing her to the Historic Preservation Commission.”

The motion passed unanimously.