GHS drumline state ‘champs’

The GHS Pirate Band drumline rose to the top at the Lone Star Classic drumline contest Saturday at Marcus High School in Flower Mound. The drumline placed first in a standstill division featuring schools from the Dallas-Fort Worth area. The group also won awards for Best Tenor Line and Best Bass Line. The competition is considered the “state championship” of the high school drumline community, according to GHS percussion director Tahlequah Kirk. Members of the drumline from both GHS and Crossland Ninth Grade Center are Brandon Andrews, Alexis Baker, Cadence Chiappe, Chandler Chiappe, Trace Chiappe, BreAnne Daly, Laura Farmer, Reagan Hall, Addie Jackson, Justin Kochis, Katie McKamy, Josh Musser, Hunter Prewitt, Khaled Sabek, Josh Schuessler, Randy Sillivent, Derrick Singer, Christian Torres and Tommy Wallace.