Wood leads 17 Rattlers onto All-6-2A D-II football

December 11, 2013

Quarterback Corbin Wood was voted Offensive Player of the Year and running back Cory Solomon earned first-team all-district for a third straight year to lead the way for Tolar in the 6-2A all-district football voting for the 2013 season.

The potent offensive duo helped lead the district runner-up Rattlers to a second consecutive 9-3 season and a spot in the second round of the 2A Division II playoffs under head coach Mike Franklin.

Junior offensive lineman Aaron Platt of Tolar was a unanimous choice in voting by the seven other coaches across the district. Last year, Platt was a first-team all-district defensive lineman but his main position was switched to offense for 2013.

The only other unanimous selection this year was district champion Scurry-Rosser’s Paten Snell, voted first-team quarterback.

“He was always unselfish, and doing whatever the team needed,” Franklin said of Platt. “That means a lot when all the coaches vote for you. That means you’ve done something right – every coach noticed you.”

Wood, who was a second-team all-district pick at quarterback as a junior, posted a career-high 1,439 yards passing overall this season, and had a hand in 33 touchdowns. He added 647 yards and 12 TDs rushing for the season. A year ago, Wood was second-team all-district linebacker and punter.

Solomon, believed to be the school’s all-time leading rusher, gained 1,470 yards rushing with 17 TDs on 198 carries overall this season.

Solomon finished his career with 4,321 yards and 50 touchdowns. Fittingly, his final carry as a Rattler was a 30-yard touchdown run.

Another overall district superlative was earned by Tolar senior Garrett Winston, who was named the district’s Utility Player of the Year. He led the Rattlers in punt and kickoff returns, was second in receiving with 343 yards and seven TDs, and tied for the team lead in interceptions (3) as a cornerback on defense. He was voted second-team all-district at cornerback a year ago.

Dalton Shaw, Tolar’s receiving leader with 580 yards on 26 catches with eight TDs overall, was also on the offensive first team.

On defense, Tolar’s first-teamers are senior tackle Alec Elder, senior end Kaleb Crawford, junior inside linebacker Hunter Ryan, junior outside linebacker Rodie Brister, junior cornerback Blake Watson and junior safety Dakota Endsley. Ryan was a first-team pick as an offensive lineman last season. Crawford was on the second team last season as a defensive lineman.

“I was real pleased with everything our kids got,” Franklin said Monday. “We felt like we were very well represented on the all-district team. A lot of our kids got recognition and we felt like they deserved it. I wish a few more got first team instead of second team. But, looking back, there were a lot of good players in the district and it turned out pretty much the right way.”

The Rattlers reached the area round of the playoffs before ending their season with a 28-6 loss to S&S Consolidated Nov. 22. The all-district team was released after all of the district’s playoff representatives – Scurry-Rosser and the third and fourth seeds, Mildred and Blooming Grove, were eliminated.

[email protected] | 817-573-7066, ext. 256

All-6-2A, Div. II Football Team

Most Valuable Player – Jalen Blanton, sr., WR, Scurry-Rosser.

Offensive Player of the Year – Corbin Wood, sr., QB, Tolar.

Defensive Player of the Year – Collan Jasien, sr., LB, Scurry-Rosser.

Newcomer of the Year – Russell Holden, soph., WR, Mildred.

Utility Player of the Year – Garrett Winston, sr., Tolar.

Lineman of the Year – Leal Sample, soph., Scurry-Rosser.

Coach and Staff of the Year – Jason Bachtel, Scurry-Rosser.

First Team


Tailback – Cory Solomon, sr., Tolar.

Receiver – Dalton Shaw, jr., Tolar.

Offensive line – Aaron Platt, jr., Tolar.


Tackle – Alec Elder, sr., Tolar.

End – Kaleb Crawford, sr., Tolar.

Inside linebacker – Hunter Ryan, jr., Tolar.

Outside linebacker – Rodie Brister, jr., Tolar.

Cornerback – Blake Watson, jr., Tolar.

Safety – Dakota Endsley, jr., Tolar.

Second Team


Fullback – Nathan Langston, jr., Tolar.

Receiver – Connor Robinson, sr., Tolar.

Offensive line – Jose Becerra, sr., Tolar; Clay Greenwell, sr., Tolar.


Tackle – Connor Huckabee, sr., Tolar.

Inside linebacker – Gordon Lewis, jr., Tolar.

Cornerback – Kaleb Gilliam, jr., Tolar.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Sports Archived, Tolar Sports Archived