Nine Crusaders named all-district

In just two seasons of varsity football, the Cornerstone Crusaders are playoff regulars with back-to-back second-round postseason appearances.

And nine members of this season’s Crusaders squad were named to the Texas Christian Athletic League Division II All-District 1 team.

The Crusaders (6-6) finished second to Stephenville Faith, which went on to repeat as state champions.

Named to the first-team offense were sophomore quarterback Brenden Brawley, junior wide receiver Forrest Copenhaver and sophomore center Logan Weems. Senior end Jonathan Delzeit was chosen for first-team defense, and senior kick returner Joseph Deskin was picked for first-team on special teams.

Second-team picks are sophomores running back Josh Beaird, linebacker Jared Rudd, defensive end Zach Olsen and utility player Michael Marcell.

“I am so proud of these boys,” said Cornerstone coach Bobby Johnson. “We had some ups and downs this season, but they fought hard and got back to the playoffs.”

Johnson said he is especially excited about the youth on his team.

Brawley completed 48 of 79 passes for 1,260 yards with 20 touchdowns and just two interceptions. He also rushed for nearly 800 yards and 14 scores, ending the regular season third in the state in passing and second in total yards.

Copenhaver was fourth in the state in receiving in the regular season with 23 catches for 570 yards and nine TDs. Weems led the state in catches (17) and yards (257) for a center, along with scoring five touchdowns.

Delzeit posted 94 tackles, recovered four fumbles (four for touchdowns) and returned an interception for a score.

Olsen’s honor came after playing just a half season on the varsity. He was moved up from the junior varsity and averaged six tackles.

Deskin was one of the top returners around with an average of nearly 30 yards.

[email protected] | 817-573-7066, ext. 256

Texas Christian Athletic League Division II

All-District 1 Football Team

Cornerstone selections


First team – QB Brenden Brawley, soph.; WR Forrest Copenhaver, jr.; C Logan Weems, soph.

Second team – RB Josh Beaird, soph.


First team – DE Jonathan Delzeit, sr.

Second team – DE Zach Olsen, soph.; LB Jarred Rudd, soph.


Second team – Michael Marcell, soph.

Special teams

First team – Returner Joseph Deskin, sr.