HCYBA crowns champs, names all-star teams

June 1, 2013

While it remains to be seen what the Texas Rangers Major League baseball team will do this season – although they are doing quite well at the moment – the Rangers had an extremely successful season in the Hood County Youth Baseball Association.

In baseball, teams named Rangers won two championships and finished second in two other divisions. In softball, teams named Rangers won two championships.

There were a few upstarts in the postseason tournament, with the No. 4 seeds Cardinals and Rangers advancing to the finals of the 8-Under and 10-Under divisions. Also, the third-seeded Rangers reached the finals of the 12-Under division in baseball and the third-seeded Indians did the same in 10-Under softball.

But the biggest surprise of the tournament was in 14-Under baseball. After breezing through the regular season with a 10-0 record and reaching the tournament final, the Orioles were shocked by the second-seeded Cardinals (5-4-1 in the regular season), 13-0.

The Orioles had outscored their opponents 104-43 in the regular season, but had two tough wins over the Cardinals by 9-8 and 11-9.

Likewise, in the 8-Under softball final, the second-seeded Royals (8-2 in the regular season) handed the top-seeded Diamondbacks (10-0) their only loss of the season, 11-7, in the championship game.



Regular-season leaders – Rangers (7-1-1), Diamondbacks (6-0-3).

Tournament final – Rangers 14, Diamondbacks 7


Regular-season leaders – Reds (9-1-0), Rangers (9-1-0).

Tournament final – Rangers defeated Cardinals (5-5, No. 4 seed), score not available.


Regular-season leaders – Reds (9-0-1), Diamondbacks (9-0-1).

Tournament final – Diamondbacks 8, Rangers (5-5, No. 4 seed) 7.


Regular-season leaders – Orioles (9-1-0), White Sox (9-1-0).

Tournament final – Orioles defeated Rangers (7-3, No. 3 seed), score not available.


Regular-season leaders – Orioles (10-0), Cardinals (5-4-1).

Tournament final – Cardinals 13, Orioles 0.



Regular-season leaders – Diamondbacks (10-0), Royals (8-2).

Tournament final – Royals 11, Diamondbacks 7.


Regular-season leaders – Rangers (2-0-3), Rockies (3-1-1).

Tournament final – Rangers defeated Indians (2-2-2, No. 3 seed), score not available.


Regular-season leaders – Rangers (8-1-0), Rockies (5-4-0).

Tournament final – Rangers defeated Rockies, score not available.


Regular-season leaders – TBD (2-1-1), Dirt Dynasty (3-3-1).

No postseason tournament.


With the close of the regular season and city tournament comes the naming of the all-stars in the various age groups. These teams will represent HCYBA in all-star tournaments throughout the summer.

Coaches names are in parentheses.


8-Under (Bills)

Abbie Pruitt, Ava LeCluyse, Baili Deaver, Cali Crawford, Katelyn Fines, Kennedy Tackett, Lilli Williams, Lu Johns-De La Garza, Maddie Bills, Peyton Bills, Reese Tennery, Samantha Ellenberger, Weslyn Frye.

10-Under (Jordan Ruby)

Lillie Logue, Rayli Ruby, Gracie Shelton, Jamie Babbe, Sydney Buchanan, Isabella Trejo, Mackenzie Hamilton, Payton Alberts, Grace Whidden, Maileah Durham, Landry Karnes, Courtney Smith, Hope Grivette.

12-Under (Trumble)

Briana Venable, Rheagan Whitefield, Kelby Bean, Ellie Feemester, Blaine Dixon, Rachael McWilliams, Ashleigh Wilson, Peyton White, Alexa Rosemond, McKalyn Rudnicky, Naomi Palafox, Morgan Hutsell, Claire Turner.


6-Under (Stone)

Blake Bramlett, Brooks Stone, Caden Davis, Caden Pate, Cayson Applequist, Cole Bradley, Cutter Cain, Drake Owens, Hunter Michaels, Kyler Crites, Talan Culberson, Tyce Edwards, Tyler St. Don.

6-Under (Adams)

Kaden Adams, Kamden Aparicio, Caden Bagwell, Hayden Collins, Jack Demphousse, Walker Feemster, Ryan Kirk, Audrey Kinsey, Murphy Page, Ayden Parkinson, Monty Whipple, Will Webb, Landon Womack.

8-Under (Guidry)

Ayden Derrick, Brady Heathington, Brandon Click, Braxton Heffernan, Cole Clark, Colton Moore, Dakota Grim, Dawson Edwards, Grae Webb, Jake Pepper, Keaton Wilkerson, Thomas Overcash, Tyler Guidry.

8-Under (Brown)

Ethan Armstrong, Talan Brown, Ethan Celli, Colton Gibson, Bryson Kinsey, William Lillagore, Chandler Kimberling, Gage Neagle, Tyler Overman, Gunner Schoessow, Chase Sprinkle, Isiah Trejo, Wyatt Wells.

9-Under (Rradley)

Parker Bradley, Kade Brakeen, Ethan Clinkscale, Trent Gray, Daniel Hinojosa, Austin McGowan, Tyler McGowan, Reese Villareal, Chance Wade, Thomas Whidden, Hudson Wilson.

10-Under (Nemecek)

Brady Nemecek, Ben Lara, Alex Opperman, Cordel Gibson, Daetyne Wilson, Brayden Linker, Izaac Delgado, Jake Dollander, Kyren Hawk, Mathew Anchondo, Nathan Gibson, Trysten Lewis.

11-Under (Callas)

Brandon Hunt, Cash Bryan, Colby Mead, Cole Alberts, Cole Callas, Jack Ludwig, Jesse Riley, Juan Rodriguez, Korbin Wilson, Kyler Gibson, Ryan Wheeler, Tristin Ticer, Wesley Miller.

12-Under (Current)

Blain Tibbs, Devin Hurtado, Ethan Current, Hayden Tackett, Hunter Conatser, Jaxon Castillo, Justin Neuman, Logan Potter, Mason King, Nick Ramsey, Spencer Earlston, Zachary Adams.

14-Under (Davis)

Tyler Blevins, Clifton Campbell, Caden Davis, Tanner Davis, Conner Dixon, Corbin Harris, Valentino Lopez, Matthew McClendon, Cameron Matthis, Jacob Silcox, Brody Trumble, cordel Whitefield, Ryan Wood.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Sports Archived