Plan ahead for safe boating, and you may see a discount on your boat insurance rate.
The U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary Flotilla 54, based on Lake Granbury, has announced seven dates for the Texas Boater Education course.
“This seven-hour class is highly recommended for all boaters on our lakes,” said Flotilla spokesman Dale Nickelson.
Many insurance companies give 10-20 percent discounts to boat owners who have completed this course, he added.
Texas state law requires operators between 13-17 years of age to complete this course before driving a boat. The course materials apply to all types of boats and to boaters of all ages, Nickelson noted.
Texas State boating safety laws and regulations will be covered in the day-long session.
Classes will be at the Granbury Regional Airport, 400 Howard Clemons Road.
Each seven-hour class meets from 8:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. with a one-hour lunch break.
Reservations are recommended, as classes are restricted to 20 students. Minors 17 and under must be accompanied by parent or guardian for the duration of the class. The minimum age to attend this class is 12.
Texas Parks and Wildlife (TPW) Safe Boater Certification is issued upon successful completion of the class. Parents attending with their child will not be charged the certification fee – unless they desire the TPW certification.
Each person desiring certification must provide a social security number for issuance of certification.
2013 SCHEDULE OF CLASSES
The course will be presented seven times this year, and includes the following dates:
Saturday, March 2
Saturday, April 6
Saturday, May 4
Saturday, June 1
Saturday, July 6
Saturday, Aug. 3
Saturday, Sept. 7
The certification fee is $10 per person. For additional information or a class reservation call 817-894-1912.
Category: Sports Archived