All-6-2A honors plenty for Rattlers

December 29, 2012

Tolar senior Zack Hasegawa and junior Cory Solomon were both voted to the 2012 first-team all-district squad for District 6-2A, Diviision II, after having been on the first team in 2011 when the school was in District 4-2A, Division II.

Senior defensive back B.J. Dollins of Tolar is Defensive co-MVP.

Tolar was 6-1 in district, finishing behind Mildred, which lost to East Bernard in the state championship game. The Rattlers (9-3) fell to Gunter in the area round of the playoffs. Tolar downed Holliday in overtime in the bidistrict round.

Although Mildred rightfully placed numerous players on the all-district team, including District MVP (running back Draylon Sterling), Offensive MVP (quarterback Nic Shimonek) and Defensive co-MVP, Tolar head coach Mike Franklin said he thought the voting by the coaches turned out to be fair.

“I think it was very fair. The all-district was a pretty good representation,” Franklin said. “There are a lot of good football players on it. We had a pretty competitive district and we had a lot of of good athletes in it. I felt like our kids earned a lot of honors, and I think our play showed it.”

Dollins recorded a team-leading 99 tackles and intercepted three passes.

Hasegawa was named first-team all-district at wide receiver this year, but had been first-team last year as a defensive back (he was honorable mention this year). He caught 23 passes during the 2012 season for 382 yards and five touchdowns. As a junior, Hasegawa was a second-team receiver.

Solomon made the first team for the second year in a row as running back. He rushed for 1,723 yards – believed to be a school record. Solomon also scored a team-leading 24 TDs, with all but one coming on the ground. He gained 1,128 yards as a sophomore.

Senior Landon Morris, who played receiver, quarterback, running back and cornerback for Tolar, was voted all-district Utility Player of the Year. He had 630 all-purpose yards, including a team-leading 314 yards in kick returns. On defense he recorded 79 tackles and three interceptions.

Senior offensive lineman Weston Phillips was also first-team all-district, along with being an honorable mention on the defensive line.

Tolar’s first-team all-district players on defense are sophomore lineman Aaron Platt, linebacker Colt Arrington (92 tackles, four fumble recoveries, five quarterback sacks) and cornerback Garrett Winston (40 tackles, two interceptions).

[email protected] | 817-573-7066, ext. 254

All-6-2A, Division II Football Team

Tolar selections

Co-defensive MVP

DB B.J. Dollins, sr.

Utility player of the Year

Landon Morris, sr.

First Team


OL Weston Phillips, sr.; WR Zack Hasegawa, sr.; RB Cory Solomon, jr.


DL Aaron Platt, soph.; LB Colt Arrington, sr.; CB Garrett Winston, jr.

Second Team


OL Zyane Gumler, sr.; Hunter Ryan, soph.; WR Grant Winston, sr.; QB Corbin Wood, jr.


DL Caleb Crawford, jr. LB/P Wood.

Honorable Mention

WR Jared Sparks, sr.; DB Alfredo Triana, sr.; DB Hasegawa; LB Justin Brown, sr.; DL Phillips.

Academic All-District

Dollins; Hasegawa; Ryan; Platt; Dakota Endsley, soph.; Rodie Brister, soph.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Sports Archived, Tolar Sports Archived