Filing for county races to start soon

October 12, 2013

City and school races are in full swing for the Nov. 5 election, but just days after those races are decided, the filing period will start for the spring primaries.

Ten county seats will be on the March 4 primary ballot. They are: County Commissioner, Precinct 2; County Commissioner, Precinct 4; county clerk; county judge; county court-at-law judge; district clerk; district judge; Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2; Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3; and treasurer.

The filing period for the primary election will begin on Nov. 9 and will run through Dec. 9. Early voting will take place Feb. 18-28.

Three candidates have filed treasurer paperwork with the county elections office for the Precinct 2 commissioner seat being vacated by Dick Roan. Those candidates are Cynthia Gullett, Lloyd “Butch” Barton and William “Bill” Booth.

Three candidates have filed treasurer paperwork for the Justice of the Peace, Precinct 3, position as well. Those candidates are Rick Frye, Leonard “Darrell” Grober and Kathy Gwinn. Judy Watson currently holds that position, but is retiring.

upcoming election

On the Nov. 5 ballot will be several city and school elections, as well as bond elections for the Granbury and Bluff Dale school districts.

School board of trustees elections will take place in Granbury and Tolar.

In the race for GISD board of trustees, Place 6, Joe W. Jones faces Robert Lee Carter.

In Tolar, the school board races are as follows: Place 1, Tommy Matthews faces Brooks Goodson; Place 5, Dalton Nix is opposed by Mark Waldrep; and in Place 6, the contenders are Scott Buckelew, Kris Hall and Wayne Wienecke.

Three places will be on the ballot in the Granbury city election.

For mayor, the candidates are David Southern, Billy Joe “Scooter” Thomas and Nin Hulett, who is the current mayor pro tem.

The candidates for Place 2 are John Bratta, incumbent Tony Allen, Phoenix “John” Van Daele and J.T. Winn.

For the unexpired term for Place 4, the candidates are Ken Grey, Tom Baker, Tony Mobly and Rose B. Myers.

In the city of deCordova, Mayor Dick Pruitt is being challenged by Kay Bailey.

Friday, Oct. 25, is the last day for the elections office to receive applications for mailed ballots.

Early voting will begin on Monday, Oct. 21, and will run through Friday, Nov. 1.

Here is the breakdown of when the polls will be open during early voting: Oct. 21-25, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 26, 7 to 7; Oct. 28-Oct. 30, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.; Oct. 31 and Nov. 1, 7 to 7.

All early voting will take place at Annex 1, 1410 W. Pearl St.

Due to the passage of Senate Bill 14, voters are now required to present an approved form of photo identification in order to vote. Approved forms of photo ID include: a Texas driver license; an election identification card issued by the Department of Public Safety (DPS); a Texas personal identification card issued by DPS; a Texas concealed handgun license issued by DPS; a U.S. military ID card containing a photo; a U.S. citizenship certificate containing a photo; or a U.S. passport.

Election information can be found on the elections page on the county’s website,

The phone number to the elections administrator’s office is 817-408-2525.

[email protected] | 817-573-7066, ext. 258.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Page One News Archived