Cold brings slow start to early runoff voting

November 27, 2013

Early voting has started for the two runoff races for the Granbury City Council. Polls at Annex I were open 7 to 7 on Monday and Tuesday.

Up for grabs is the mayor’s seat and the Place 4 position. Current Mayor Pro Tem Nin Hulett is up against former Mayor David Southern. Tony Mobly and Rose B. Myers are vying for the year that remains on the Place 4 seat vacated by Hulett.

Elections Administrator Jenise “Cricket”” Miller said Monday morning that only seven people had voted in the first two hours of early voting.

Although Hood County had dodged a bullet with streets remaining free of ice, the weather nevertheless was cold and wet.

“If the weather was better, we’d probably have a lot more people,” Miller said.

Polls will be open today from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., and will also be open from 8 to 5 next week, Dec. 2-6.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day – Tuesday, Dec. 10.

All voting will be at Annex 1, 1410 W. Pearl St.

spring primaries

The filing period continues for the March 4 primaries in which 10 county positions will be on the ballot.

So far, these incumbents have filed: District Judge Ralph Walton; County Court-at-Law Judge Vincent Messina; County Judge Darrell Cockerham; Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, Martin Castillo; County Treasurer Kathy Davis; County Clerk Mary Burnett; Precinct 4 County Commissioner Steve Berry; and District Clerk Tonna Trumble Hitt.

Granbury City Council member Mickey Parson told the Hood County News on Monday that he had picked up a packet to possibly file for county judge, but then decided not to go through with it.

Two candidates have filed for the Precinct 2 seat on the Commissioners Court being vacated by Dick Roan. Those candidates are Pecan Plantation resident Butch Barton and county Road Ops employee Cindy Gullett.

The Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace race so far has drawn two contenders – Granbury Fire Chief Darrell Grober and Kathy Gwinn, who works for Precinct 4 JP Danny Tuggle. Judy Watson is retiring from the Precinct 3 post.

The Republican headquarters is located at 827 W. Pearl St. It will be open from 10 a.m. until 2 p.m. Monday through Saturday during the filing period (except for Thanksgiving Day). Party Chair Jean Cochran has candidate packets with instructions.

The Democratic party headquarters is located in the Woodmen of the World building at 2421 E. Highway 377. That office will be open from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m. Monday, Wednesday and Friday during the filing period.

[email protected] | 817-573-7066, ext. 258.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: News Archived