Student advisory group meets

October 13, 2012


STUDENT ADVISORS: The Superintendent Student Advisory Committee members are (front from left) Cindy Castaneda, Magon Rutledge, Gracie Cuellar, Aubrey Reinhardt and Evangelina Oviedo. Middle from left: Ethan Inbody, Elyscia Alaniz, Jocelyn Trejo, Jennifer Rodriguez, Chase Singleton, Jettin Murphy, Mitchell Knox, Caleb Bendewald and Andrew Quinn. Back from left: Julio Castillo, Clay Brawner, Garrett Williams, Justin Kochis, Superintendent James Largent, Lilley Vander Zee, Mikayla Carpenter and Chandler Chiappe. Not pictured – Hannah Roberts and Tori Townsend.

Granbury School Superintendent James Largent convened the first meeting of the Superintendent Student Advisory Committee (SSAC) Wednesday.

The group includes students from Granbury High School and Crossland Ninth Grade Center.

Largent is establishing the committee to have an opportunity to interact with students in a positive and productive manger.

“This group of high school students will meet with me several times this year for an informal lunchtime meeting,” Largent said. “During these meetings I will be able to discuss pertinent topics with students as well as important issues facing them and the district.

“The fact that I do not work directly with them at their campus facilitates a very open and honest atmosphere to communicate. I expect that these meetings will prove to be very positive and educational for me and the students alike.”

Students serving on the committee are: seniors Caleb Bendewald, Mikayla Carpenter, Evangelina Oviedo, Aubrey Reinhardt, Chase Singleton, Tori Townsend, Joslyn Trejo, Lilley Vander Zee, Garrett Williams; juniors Chandler Chiappe, Gracie Cuellar, Mitchell Knox, Justin Kochis, Magon Rutledge; sophomores Elyscia Alaniz, Clay Brawner, Cindy Casteneda, Julio Castillo, Hannah Roberts; freshmen Ethan Inbody, Jettin Murphy, Andrew Quinn, Jennifer Rodriguez.

The student group will meet about three or four times during this school year. During this initial meeting, Largent asked the students several questions about the future of education with responses to be incorporated into the Granbury ISD strategic planning process.

“It is my hope that the students will find this council to be educational, as well as beneficial to them as they develop individual leadership skills for the future, both in and out of school,” stated the superintendent. “I know I will benefit and learn from interacting with them in this manner.”


Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Education Archived