Marine Corps JROTC cadets receive awards

May 11, 2013


Marine Corps JROTC cadets from Granbury High School and Crossland Ninth Grade Center attended an awards ceremony May 1.

The event was in the GHS Bagby-McMahan Performing Arts Center.

Local military organizations presented scholarships and cash awards to top cadets:

American Legion Post 278: Zachary Welty for military excellence and Astrid Avila for scholastic excellence (both include $1,000 scholarships).

American Legion Post 491: senior William Black and underclassman Hunter Dowell for military excellence; senior David Hull and underclassman Morgan Arnold for scholastic excellence.

Marine Corps League/Comanche Peak Detachment Eagle Award: Zachary Welty.

Other award recipients were:

Commander Burns Academic Excellence Award: David Hull (includes a $100 scholarship).

Daedalian Achievement Award: Dalton Robinson.

Daughters of the American Revolution/Elizabeth Crockett Chapter Bronze Medal: Cindy Adams.

Devil Dog Award (most motivated male cadet): Cody Vasquez.

Fort Worth Scottish Rite Award: Karen McLellan.

Marine Corps Summer Leadership and Character Development Academy: Cody Vasquez.

Military Officers Association of America Medal: Daniel Alaniz.

Military Officers Association of America JROTC Scholarships: Astrid Avila and Brittni Selman (both will receive $1,250 scholarships).

Military Order of the Purple Heart: Stephen Schofield.

Military Order of the World Wars Bronze Medal: Timothy Correa.

Molly Marine Award (most motivated female cadet): Cindy Adams.

National Sojourners Award: Matthew McLellan.

Reserve Officer Association Medal: Cody Vasquez.

Sons of the American Revolution/Brazos Valley Chapter JROTC Bronze Medal: Kiran Lachman.

United States Naval Academy Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) Seminar: Morgan Arnold.

Women Marines Association Award for Outstanding Cadet: Brittni Selman.

Cadet battalion staff members are Lt. Colonel Zachary Welty, commanding officer; Major Kourtney Norwood, executive officer; Sgt. Major Alex Brake; Captain Cindy Adams, S-1 administration; Capt. Tanner Caraway, S-3 operations; Captains David Hull and William Black, company commanders; and Sgt. Stephen Schofield, S-4 logistics.

The JROTC instructors are Lt. Col. Scott Casey and 1st Sgt. Johnny Rositas.


Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Education Archived