GHS FFA wins sweepstakes

May 8, 2013

Granbury High School won sweepstakes at the Lake Whitney FFA District awards banquet April 30.

Earning the district sweepstakes title followed the GHS group wrapping up a successful judging season.

Those contests have been ongoing since March and culminated with five teams competing at the state level, according to FFA sponsor and GHS agricultural science teacher Nate Newton.

The evening accolades also included the election of Ty Robertson as an Area VIII officer and Colten Bison and Savanna Shelnutt as district officers.

Teams advancing to state competitions at Tarleton State University and Texas Tech University were:

Ag Communications: Haley Bell, Sam Linton, Aubrey Reinhardt (14th in state).

Entomology: Sam Arnold, Megan Baker, Connor Cox, Courtney Heathington, Millie Loftin (first in district, first in area, 13th at state).

Horse Judging: Breckyn Hoffman, Dailen Poimbeauf, Becky Presney, Ashley Yeary (second in district, third in area, state qualifier).

Homesite Evaluation: Colten Bison, Sam Spradlin, Nick Shellenberger, Austin Montgomery (19th at state).

Range: EB Hull, Preston Jeffery, Madison Miller, Ty Robertson, Savanna Shelnutt (first in district, first in area, 19th in state).

Other results in Career Development Events were:

Dairy Cattle: Erin Reese, Bailie Ashmore, Shyla Quinlin, Tristan Howton (fifth in district, 14th in area).

Dairy Foods: Damon Franks, Kena Williams, Sydney Mason, Samantha Linton, Hannah Winkleman (fifth in district, ninth in area).

Floriculture: Catherine Cogdill, Dakota Howton, Kyler Gee, Cassidy Willis, Kaitlyn Laura (fifth in district, 19th in area).

Land: Nick Shellenberger, Austin Montgomery, Kayla Barrrington and Austin Akerley (third in district, 11th in area).

Livestock Judging: Jarrod Jeffery, Sam Spradlin, Colton Bison, Emmelee Whitfield, Courtney Bedwell and Hannah Tucker (fourth in district, 16th in area).

Meats: Sarah Spradlin, Luke Elliott, Taylor Phillips, Sam Pence, Ethan Rains (second in district, sixth in area).

Poultry: Alexis Carpenter, Jenna Underwood, Ashlee Myers and Aubrey Ezzell (third in district, sixth in area).

Veterinary Science: Kailey Maberry, Brodi Markum, Kaitlyn Waldrep, Mckayla Davis, Tery Barrington (second district, sixth in area).

Wool: Gabe Yelverton, Page Tull, Dane Temple, Brendon Seago (third in district, eighth in area).

Proficiency winners who placed first in district and qualified for area were: Colten Bison, agricultural communications; Brodi Markum, veterinary medicine; Ty Robertson, food science; Savanna Shelnutt, environmental science; Sam Spradlin, agricultural education.

In public speaking, Megan Baker placed second in district and qualified for area in the soil and water contest.

Other results were: Megan Baker, extemporaneous, third in district; Savanna Shelnutt, senior prepared speaking, fourth in district.

Email this to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on Pinterest

Category: Education Archived