Weatherford College president honored by chamber


The 2012 Howard Clemmons Distinguished Service Award was presented to Kevin Eaton at the Granbury Chamber of Commerce annual banquet Friday night at Pecan Plantation Country Club.

Eaton is the president of Weatherford College and is known as “the driving force” behind the Granbury campus of Weatherford College located at 210 N. Jones.

“He had the vision, the drive and the courage to convince his board to step out on a limb and spend a considerable amount of money to open a campus in Granbury,” said Mike Scott, chamber president and CEO.

He’s made a big impact on Granbury, Scott stated.

“Dr. Eaton has not wavered once in his belief in the Granbury campus, even when facing a six-figure expenditure to replace a tired and dying HVAC system,” Scott added.

Weatherford College enrollment is currently at 318 in Granbury and in the next two years students could outgrow the current building.

The significance of having a college campus in Granbury cannot be overstated, Scott noted.

“One of the first questions businesses and potential residents ask a community is ‘Do you have a college?’

“Thanks to Dr. Kevin Eaton, we can now answer in the affirmative,” said Scott. “We are thrilled to see students graduating from GHS with 20 or more hours of college credit earned right here in Granbury. In fact, Dr. Eaton’s dream is to see students receiving their Associates degree as they graduate from Granbury high schools.”


Best of Business (BOB) award winners were also announced at the banquet. Businesses and individuals that have set the standard for business excellence and exceptional community service were honored with best of business awards.

2012 Small Business of the Year

Express Way Lube Centers

2012 Large Business of the Year


Total Equipment And Service

2012 Rising Star Award

Christian Brothers Automotive, Granbury

2012 Cornerstone Award

Plantation Inn

2012 Business Woman

of the Year

Glenda Ramsey

2012 Business Man of the Year

Bob White

2012 Director of the Year

Todd Garner

2012 Volunteer of the Year

Becky Rizer

2012 Chairman of the Board

Randy Pearson

2012 Ambassador of the Year

Lula Pope

This year’s banquet featured a Kentucky Derby theme, and many of those attending wore eye-catching hats.

Guest speaker Bill Casner spoke on his rise from odd jobs around the horse stables to becoming a Kentucky Derby winner.

Casner, a graduate of Tarleton State University, worked a variety of jobs at horse tracks to put himself through college.

Later he and Kenny Trout founded the telecommunication giant Excel Communications, a long distance service company.

The longtime friends then developed WinStar Farm, which has produced race winners in the Kentucky Derby, Dubai World Cup and others.

In other business, the Chamber recognized outgoing Board Chairman Randy Pearson of Central Texas Title, and incoming Chairman, John Lewis, of McGowan & Associates Investment Center.

Also recognized were Chair-elect Lee Overstreet of Winston Properties and Treasurer Linda Lytle of Town & Country Bank.

Retiring board members are Ron Mayfield, GISD and Jim Goode, Hilton Garden Inn.

State Representative Jim Keffer presided over the installation ceremony for the 2013 board of directors.


John Lewis, chairman

Lee Overstreet, chair-elect

Linda Lytle, treasurer

Robert Anderson

Brad Boyd

Jan Caldwell

Cathy Casey

Todd Garner

Jeff McKenzie

David Orcutt

Lee Overstreet

Ruby Thiebaud

Jim Tilger

Robin Vera

Pat Wilson